The Great Winter-Summer Debate

I rest my case. Mike Smith cartoons, Las Vegas Sun.

Be it resolved: Winter is better than summer. And so begins the great winter-summer debate.

I stand before you to present the case for winter on these grounds.

1. You get to shovel snow.

2. You can always wrap yourself in a blanket or put on an extra layer.

3. In summer, it is hot and there are bugs.

And now the anti side to that resolution that you might present:

1. Summer is better because you don’t have to shovel snow.

2. You don’t need a blanket.

3. You get to do stuff outside.

Imagine the high school students going at this great winter-summer debate. My stand, of course, is that winter is better than summer. And for the record, I also say that in winter.

Here’s how the debate goes. After arguments are prevented in favor of  the resolution that winter is better than summer.  Then each side gets to rebuttal the other’s argument.

For example, I would suggest these arguments in response to the points about why summer is better than winter:

1. You have to shovel snow? Hire a kid to do it. You provide employment and stimulate the economy.

2. You don’t need a blanket? Except when the air conditioning is set so it is so cold inside (and I love wrapping up in a blanket).

3. You get to do stuff outside. Really? It’s hot and then there are bugs.

This is my blog; you don’t get to rebuttal my arguments. Deal with it.

However, there is a serious debate of winter v summer at http://www.debate.org/debates/Summer-is-better-than-Winter/1/

For me, it purely is based on the miserable scale. I am much more miserable in July than January.

So let’s not argue. I’m right. You are wrong if you like summer better. Admit it.

About Susan T. Hessel

My career evolved from newspaper reporter to freelance writing to personal historian. My heart is in writing personal history because through it I connect the generations - past, present and future. As a member of the Association of Personal Historians, I preserve stories and photos in books I wrote for families, individuals, organizations, businesses and community. I can be reached at 608 385-4935. Email me at hessel.susan@gmail.com Visit my website at www.lessonsfromlife.com
This entry was posted in Personal History and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment